skip to page title

The Southeast Kansas Symphony Orchestra
Raul Munguia - Artistic Director & Conductor

2008-09 Season

Sunday, June 14th, 2009
~ 2:00 p.m. ~
Memorial Auditorium

Concert program (PDF)
Concert poster
Related Links

Concert Graphic

"Zin! Zin! Zin! A Violin!"
June 14th, 2009
Program Notes

PSU Alumni & Constituent Relations
and the
Southeast Kansas Symphony Orchestra
are proud to present the
2009 Children's Symphony
World Premiere performance of
Zin! Zin! Zin! a Violin!
Composed by John Ross
Sunday, June 14, 2009 ~ 2 pm
Memorial Auditorium, Pittsburg
Free Admission
All Ages Welcome
Children MUST be supervised
No RSVP necessary ~ Seats are available first come, first serve

Zin! Zin! Zin! a Violin!

written by Lloyd Moss
music by John C. Ross (1962- )
The performance of this piece was a World Premiere!

Part 1

1. Trombone solo
2. Poem #1 ~ Narrator A
"One trombone is playing solo..."
3. Trumpet solo 4. Poem #2 ~ Narrator A
"Next, a trumpet comes along..."
5. Duet
6. Horn solo
7. Poem #3-Narrator A
"Fine French horn, its valves all oiled..."
8. Trio
9. Cello solo
10. Poem #4-Narrator A
"Now, a mellow friend, the Cello..."
11. Quartet

Part 2

12. Violin solo
13. Poem #5-Narrator B
"With Zin! Zin! Zin! a Violin..."
14. Quintet
15. Flute solo
16. Poem #6-Narrator B
"Flute, that sends our soul a-shiver..."
17. Sextet
18. Clarinet solo
19. Poem #7-Narrator B
"A sleek, black, woody Clarinet..."
20. Septet

Part 3

21. Oboe solo
22. Poem #8-Narrator A
"Oboe, please don't hesitate..."
23. Octet
24. Bassoon solo
25. Poem #9-Narrator A
"That lazy clown, the big Bassoon!..."
26. Nonet
27. Harp solo
28. Poem #10-Narrator A
"The Harp descends with angel's wings..."
Poem #11-Narrator B
"The Orchestra comes in the hall..."
29. 10-piece chamber ensemble
30. Poem #12 ~ Narrators A & B
31. Encore

Written In: Spring, 2009
First Performed: June 14th, 2009

The SEKSO's "Bringing Books to Life" series begins Sunday, June 14, 2009 at Pittsburg Memorial Auditorium with a musical setting of Zin! Zin! Zin! A Violin! with music by PSU composer John Ross. Performers include PSU faculty, students, alumni, and regional professional musicians that are members of the SEK Symphony. The project is funded by PSU's Office of Alumni & Constituent Relations and the Friends of the SEK Symphony.

Scored for: flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, trumpet, trombone, harp, violin, cello, and narrators. [1110-1110-hp-1010]

Robert Kehle, trombone
Todd Hastings, trumpet
Carol Deats, horn
Irene Diaz Gill, cello
Aysegul Giray, violin
Jenny Marlin, flute
Joanne Britz, clarinet
Russell Jones, oboe
Megan Gabehart, bassoon
Jill Wiebe, harp

Stella Hastings, conductor
Gil Cooper & Cynthia Allan, narrators

Related Links

John C. Ross (1962- )

Flute Links:

  • The Dayton C. Miller Flute Collection (Library of Congress) Nearly 1,650 flutes and other instruments, statuary, iconography, books, music, tutors, patents, and other materials mostly related to the flute. The Miller Collection contains Western and non-Western examples from all over the world, and at least 460 European and American instrument makers are represented.
  • National Flute Association

Oboe Links:

Clarinet Links:

Trumpet Links:

French Horn Links:

Trombone Links:

Harp Links:

Violin Links:

Cello Links:

Other Links: